RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Colour, Colour, Colour.

Old 03-06-2012, 07:49 AM

Colour, Colour, Colour.

Hey All,

So I'm a photographer but have been retouching a lot of my own work for a number of years now. I've read a lot, watched a lot of online videos and spent hours trying out techniques that I stumbled across on this forum and others. I feel as though I have a fairly good and well rounded skill set and knowledge base. Importantly I realize that there's always a lot more that I can learn.

My request today was prompted by another thread - "The demystification of... Vogue colour?". In it there's a very interesting discussion going on about the colour aspect of retouching. The discussion really centers on how much planning goes into colour strategy, how much is achieved on the shoot and how much is achieved by post.

So my request: Can anybody point me in the direction of a good book/video that discusses the theory of colour as it relates to retouching? I don't mean a book detailing the tools needed in Photoshop (there's loads of them out there) or a book on colour theory (loads of them as well). I mean an essay on the decisions that are made when retouching colour, and the reasons for these decisions. A good book on the theory of colour grading for film would answer the same questions.

Perhaps such a thing doesn't exist! If not: what are peoples' thought processes when dealing with colour? For instance, I try to retouch colors so that they are all working towards the same goal: if the overall feel of the shot is cool then I push all other colors in that direction. I'll often chop the image up so that I can fine tune various elements separately. I then tweak and tweak until I'm happy. But! I'm pretty sure that I can do better.

Finn
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-06-2012, 08:37 AM