RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Match Skin tones

Old 03-23-2012, 04:04 AM

Match Skin tones

I've been a photographer for two years now and no matter what I do or how I light an image I always seem to get one person that has a problem with there head being lighter than there body or vice versa. In this case I have no idea how to get them matched up DSC_0139-Edit.jpg
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-23-2012, 05:51 PM

Re: Match Skin tones

Easiest is to make two exposures from the RAW file and simply mix them in Photoshop ( two layers in Photoshop where the top one has a gradient in a layer mask to het a smooth transition ).
Or make a simple adjustment layer, set belnding mode to Multiply and turn opacity low, maybe in the 10-20's. Turn mask black and paint with white where you want to darken the face.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-24-2012, 12:47 PM

You don't really need to use separate exposures for something so minor. Just use the available masking tools and adjust the brightness and/or color of a region as necessary.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-24-2012, 12:56 PM

In detail how would i go about this
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-24-2012, 01:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by artiisan1 View Post
In detail how would i go about this
Paint in a layer mask or start by using the pen tool to make an outline (which might require some refinement to get it right). Make one or more adjustment layers that adjust color and density closer to bring the two regions closer together. You really need to know if you're happy with either of them first. If one appears to be correct to you, you should adjust the other. Typically curves and color balance are the easier ones to control for such adjustments. It shouldn't take more than a few minutes to get it right.