RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Matching Colors From a Tear & Using Kuler

Old 03-26-2012, 01:18 PM

Matching Colors From a Tear & Using Kuler

Hey guys, I've been a bit of a lingerer, but this is my fist post so hello! You guys/girls have a great forum with some great people. I'm primarily a photographer (shooting mostly fashion/fine art) and never really liked the editing aspect but have found myself needing to (for the lack of finding someone good at a reasonable rate)...and really enjoying the post work involved. I'm now, like most people, finding myself trying to understand/work with color. In trying to do so, I've been analyzing lots of tears, trying to figure out what gives the high fashion magazines that high fashion look - while I know there isn't 1 particular "look" it's hard to deny that there are a few extremely dominant recurring processing themes that repeat themselves over and over. So I've been continuously looking at color combos, patterns, etc. What I'd like to do now though is choose an editorial with a similar color palette to which I'd like to apply to one of my images, pull the colors and apply the proper channels/adjustments. I know it's not going to match perfectly, but what's the best way to do so? I just discovered Adobe Kuler and was planning on using it to help aid me in finding the proper color palette....any suggestions? How do you all use Kuler?