RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Mask Pro and removing backgrounds...expert advise

Old 04-20-2012, 04:20 PM

Mask Pro and removing backgrounds...expert advise

Hello

I'm looking for solid advise on the subject of removing and replacing backgrounds.

For starters, I am one who never ever thinks this looks natural and I can always spot it. Unless, it's composite work for advertising I'd rather do a reshoot. Clients ask 'can you please replace this brick wall shot with a solid white background. I cringe. What's your take?

I am a retoucher and a photographer. I retouch for several clients who shoot portraits and head shots. Sometimes they request changing a background. My opinion and experience has shown that changing a solid background to a complex background or a solid to a solid is much much easier then changing a busy complex background to a solid background. Agree? I also believe that no matter how sharp and no matter how perfect the hair is it just doesn't work sometimes. Agreed?

One of my clients recently had a request to change the background from a busy background. It's wall paper, light purple with repeating black victorian like design. Similar to vintage type wall paper. To be put on a white backdrop. Beautiful model great hair, no problem..right. Wrong. No matter what technique use it just didn't look right. Background swaps like this are a pain in the arse to me. It's one of those things that I just haven't been able to dial in. It kills me and not just the hair part.