Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Greg Kadel's MOTION EFFECT - how to do the same?

Old 05-24-2012, 11:50 AM
Question Greg Kadel's MOTION EFFECT - how to do the same?

Hello, WIZARDS!!!

A few months ago I came across these amazing images that Greg Kadel was shooting/editing for Numero magazine.

Since than, I tried to recreate this amazing effect (ESPECIALLY the same one as on the picture below!), mostly with PS' motion blur filter and different blend modes, but with no satisfactory results! So, my question is, is there some good soul of you Photoshop gurus/wizards who is gonna be willing to point me into the RIGHT direction?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg annaj5.jpg (97.0 KB, 166 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-24-2012, 06:00 PM
Re: Greg Kadel's MOTION EFFECT - how to do the sam

Hi! Im no expert on the field, so I may be wrong, but this really looks to me like "rear curtain sync" ,with some paning of the camera. So basicly to me it seems like its done "in shooting". You should google "Rear curtain sync" or maybe "ghosting". There are tons of articles out there about it.
For recreating the effect in PS I too would have tried the motion blur with some masking and some gradients, so if that didnt get you where you wanted it would have been interresting to hear what the pros here have to say..
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-24-2012, 06:51 PM

Hello, grossmisconduct!

Thanks for the reply, unfortunately I'm a real ignorant when it comes to the professional photo shooting so I think that everything beyond "point & shoot" now is gonna be too complicated for me. (However, I'm willing to learn as much as possible about the cameras & photoshooting per se, but first things first - the Photoshop is a priority No. 1 at the moment!)