RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

The Oleg Dou Effect (Surreal and Flawless Skin)

Old 05-29-2012, 04:47 PM

The Oleg Dou Effect (Surreal and Flawless Skin)

Hey everyone! Its my first time posting here and I just saw the world of Russian fine art photographer Oleg Dou and its simply shocking to see his work. Now I understand that his base image is done using a Hassleblad and a very large Octobox but what I want to know is how exactly he gets the flawless skin done in post using photoshop?

His work is here:

http://olegdou.com/

Lets figure this out!
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-30-2012, 12:28 PM

Re: The Oleg Dou Effect (Surreal and Flawless Skin

No one? Really? Come one! There must be someone out there who can atleast give me a ballpark idea of what could have been done. Maybe something to do with surface blur? Paths on the eye lids? Gaussian blur on the whites of the eyes? I'm guessing he uses gradients somewhere on the face?
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-31-2012, 03:44 AM

Dust&Scratches, loads of desaturation, some grain added back and some fake depth of field.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-01-2012, 04:02 PM

How would the dust&scratches be used exactly? And I have noticed that he removes the hair in the photos so I guesses he uses paths to trace out the top of their heads and then remove the hair?
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-01-2012, 06:53 PM

it could also be make-up as far as the baldness is concerned.

Yep, multiple passes of dust and scratches, and median combined with other blurs to achieve uniform smoothnes.

Also, great brushwork, as in painting on a new layer.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-02-2012, 02:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adobe Moose View Post