RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Let's analyze/compare Vogue level fashion ed's

Old 10-25-2012, 01:02 AM

Let's analyze/compare Vogue level fashion ed's

I'm a photographer, and like many...am trying to break into the industry. Being that I don't currently have the luxury of hiring a top level post production team, I am finding that investing more of my time learning the editing would be extremely worthwhile. I know many people say, there are no secrets, and it's just years of experience...but I know many photographers that closely hide and will never reveal their lighting setups, and similarly, post prod houses that lock tons of layers and hold very closely their edits. I do think there's a lot to be said about that but I don't want to start a debate about it here...secrets or no secrets, let's go over the ANATOMY if you will of a high level shoot.

Coming from the photography side, I know first hand the level of planning that goes into the shot, which can be just as much if not more than the time spent in post. Anyhow here's what I see, but I'd love people to chime in and add, specifically on the post side.

Pre-Production:
- A Great level of good location scouting for the story that is being told
- Beautiful models working with the best makeup artists, hair stylists, art directors, etc. with a lot of attention to detail...no lipstick bleeding, hairs out of place, etc.
- Amazing Clothes...obviously, tailored and pinned with every fold strategically placed