Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Help on appropriate retouching salary?

Old 10-27-2012, 02:16 PM
Question Help on appropriate retouching salary?

So here’s the situation: I’ve been working with photoshop and retouching for over five years now, taught myself the programs and everything else. I’m currently in school for Graphic Design. I was hanging out with my friend the other day, who is a pretty well known photographer in the area I live in. Found out he needed a retoucher and started messing around on one of his pictures and showed him some of my work, and he wants to hire me as his personal retoucher now. I have never been hired on with anyone before for retouching. The types of pictures I would be retouching are many different sets of photos anywhere from photos needing major flaw retouching glamor shots for playboy, that would need a lot of time put into each picture, to engagement photos and things like that. He is starting me off doing around 30 photos from 3 different photo sets, mostly glamor maybe a few manipulated creative photos. He’s going to give me a tablet he has and $50.

This is the tablet he’s giving me:

I just was wondering if this sounded like a good deal or not? I don’t know how much I should charge in this situation. But I would be doing photos all the time for him and they would be in photo sets of no more than 15 photos at the most. What do you think the right salary should be for this or future sets? He also said he would send more clients my way and I don’t know how to set salary rates yet...

Reply With Quote top
Old 10-27-2012, 03:36 PM
Re: Help on appropriate retouching salary?

I cannot comment about the tablet.