RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Fashion Toning - Localised Colour Adjustments

Old 07-09-2013, 05:20 AM

Fashion Toning - Localised Colour Adjustments

Hi all,

Quick background; I've been lurking for a while but this is my first post so go easy on me. I'm here to improve my retouching/ps skills but I'm a photographer first and foremost. However, I still want to master this side of the artform so I spend a lot of my free time trying to learn the proper techniques rather than quick fixes.

Recently I've been drawn to fashion photography as I adore the use of colour, the beauty and balance of the finished image. Just a few random examples;
http://blog.netrobe.com/wp-content/u...ly-2011-4.jpeg
http://heycrazy.files.wordpress.com/...e-it-nov09.jpg
http://patidubroff.com/blog/wp-conte...0/Nov-2009.jpg

Specifically, I love that fact that all the colours in each image match and sit perfectly and I know that this is no lucky accident. I can appreciate that a massive amount of work goes into choosing a theme, clothes, textures and an overall tone in the conceptual stage.

However, there are some instances where you don't have any control over the locations and subject matter but still want the tones to match.

I'm going to toss up an image I took yesterday here for an example. Now before anyone jumps on me, I know this isn't a fashion image. It's just a quick snap I took yesterday and a base to try things out.

My goal was to balance the tones in the image using localised colour tweaks rather than a global whacking great curve. I tried to balance the colour of my subject and the setting by sampling colour off Bailey and blending it into the background colours. I selected specific regions using either then pen tool or the colour range method.