RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

D&B - How to get the color of the skin even?

Old 09-16-2013, 02:52 PM

D&B - How to get the color of the skin even?

Hi, i'm pretty new in retouching (2 months). I need some advices about Dodging and Burning.
My method is the 50% grey layer. To compensate the (de)saturation, I use Selective Color. It works well,but is there a way to match perfectly the color of the skin?Use channels?

At this moment, i'm struggling on this picture. The colors on the skin is not even.But it's not the fault of the D&B. I try to paint with a similar color on a color layer but it looks weird.

The second problem is the texture on the chin. What should i do D&B more? Use the clone stamp?

Well guys, if you have some tips, you're welcome

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ts2qficm62...ctice1_raw.jpg

https://www.dropbox.com/s/apn3sff8fj...ice1_clean.jpg
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-16-2013, 09:32 PM

Re: D&B - How to get the color of the skin even?

go to conraddigital.com/tutorials and take a look at my dodge and burn techniques compared video. you did a nice job removing the blemishes, but good skin is multilayered. First "spotting" which is what you did, selective smoothing and then d&b to finish. When that's done you can correct the color

-conrad
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-20-2013, 05:19 AM

Thanks Conrad, I appreciate your reply. I like very much your work. I know your prefer usin d&b with curves. I never tried, for me it's less natural than using the X button to switch color. I ll rent your tutorials for the color management. For the smoothing, do you use the method with the High pass layer? And you use it slightly and locally, isn't it?
I' m amateur photographer and my goal is to get the Gavin O'neill's look. Especially for the skin.