RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Sharpening

Old 01-16-2014, 05:33 AM
Patron

Sharpening

Hi everyone! This is my first post...so be nice please I've been using photoshop for several years but this is my first time working as a full time retoucher, so I'm soaking up information at a rapid rate! The one thing I am constantly confused about is sharpening. I know there are tons of information online and there may be a post on this forum you can point to but I haven't found one that answers my first question. The two questions are:

1.) When do I sharpen? Do I sharpen first thing or do I sharpen at the very end? I can see the advantage for both, but which is standard?

2.) How do I sharpen? For years I've used unsharp mask because I was convinced it was the best, but lately I've been realizing that so many people use the opacity filter. I know it's a matter of personal taste, but what are the advantages of both?

Thank you! I'm sure you'll see many more posts from me!
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-16-2014, 10:01 AM

Re: Sharpening

1) After you've finished everything else.

2) You sharpen by using a result of the set radius to an inverted stamp of the image set to linear light, then masked selectively.
so...

alt+command+shift+E (make a stamp)
command+I (invert the stamp)
M (choose a tool that will give you access to shortcuts for the layer opacity, Marquee is just one of them)
5 (set opacity of the layer to 50%)
Filter>Blur>choose any kind of blur you'd like to use, it will give you different results, but "normal" is gaussian", and slide to see the detail aka radius you want enhanced (by bluring a grey, you're revealing the detail at any given radius)
alt+command+shift+E (make another stamp, as you have to apply what you just created)