RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Seeking advice on retouching headshot (with image)

Old 05-21-2014, 03:46 PM

Seeking advice on retouching headshot (with image)

Hi guys, I'm looking for a bit of advice/feedback/tips on retouching in general, and the retouch I've started below.

I have no experience with retouching. I have both photoshop and lightroom, however, for my needs, I've been trying to stick to lightroom. (I'm inexperienced with both) The image below was edited in lightroom.

This is a headshot, and therefore the retouching should be as minimal as possible. The problem is that the image is rather muted and the face is not lit well. I'm happy enough with the shot, but it needs fixing... without looking like it has been fixed.

Here's the image. Any tips / advice on what might help get this image halfway decent would be appreciated! Thanks so much.

http://postimg.org/image/wfkbtzahh/full/

http://postimg.org/image/wfkbtzahh/full/
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-22-2014, 03:26 AM

Re: Seeking advice on retouching headshot (with im

Is the sharpening of the left image intentional? If so, it's far too much. The image doesn't need that sort of small-radius sharpening. You mention that the image is 'rather muted' and that the face is not well lit, but you could equally describe the effect as subtle and natural diffused lighting, which defines the mood of the shot. I wouldn't do much retouching to this at all - just take out the grey area at the top of his forehead and perhaps slightly reduce the shadows below his eyes near the nose. Then call it a day - nice personal portrait.
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-22-2014, 12:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKMac View Post