Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

help with war record scans

Old 08-24-2014, 10:55 AM
Exclamation help with war record scans

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone has any tips or secret fixes for poor scans of old war records etc. Any help or tips you could give me would be most welcomed.

I have someone that I have been working for now on and off for several years as he researches his family tree.

Up until now it has all been prints and any records that he has asked to be copied improved etc. has been the actual genuine records but now he has asked me to “work my magic “ as he puts it on some new records but they are photocopies of the original war records and they are bad copies.

I am trying to get the most out of them that I can but some are proving more troublesome than others. I have attached a copy of one of the scans for you to see what I am trying to fix as he cannot get the originals.

Thanks in advance for any advice you may be able to send my way.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Scan10023 web copy.jpg (87.8 KB, 40 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-24-2014, 06:19 PM
Re: help with war record scans

Hi David

For genealogy research improving a specific image is only one approach. Having the genealogy bug here are some suggestions for you or your client.

1) Those records are typically online which makes the job a lot simpler

2) Online there are examples of very similar documents where you can extract the wording of the text of the document quite easily. A 20 second search found this similar document where I could extract most of the wording of the text (not the exact same military form yet quite close):