RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

New to RetouchPro—Thread Suggestions + Question

Old 12-20-2016, 01:13 PM

New to RetouchPro—Thread Suggestions + Question

Hello, world!

I'm brand new to RetouchPro, and figured I'd ask the community for some thread suggestions.

I'm a professional retoucher with a BFA in photography. I've been using photoshop for many years, but am relatively new to retouching professionally. Accordingly, my photoshop proficiency is fairly high, but my retouching proficiency is fairly low—I'm hoping to optimize my workflow, find tips and tricks that make common processes faster and better, and learn to solve more advanced problems.

I have a question for the community right up front, I'm sure there is a dedicated thread somewhere, I'd love to have the link. I'm wondering what folk's techniques are for precisely selecting low contrast areas precisely.

In my case, I'm working on a project for a client who has a line of shampoos and shaving products. The bottles are all white, and they're printed with grey and light color text. They hired a "lifestyle" shooter to make the pictures, but want a more product oriented look. Because of the "lifestyle" lighting (read: 100% ambient) the text often overlaps shadows (and coincides very closely in value), making it tricky to even out the tone of the bottles without brightening the text too much. Accordingly, I want to select the text in order to precisely mask it out.

I spent two hours last night using quick selection, lassos and pen tool along with smart radius and refine edge to get a solid selection, but the project is 100+ pictures, so this approach is obviously not sustainable.