RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Looking for help retouching products

Old 04-01-2017, 03:17 PM

Looking for help retouching products

Hi everyone,

I've just discovered this forum and I'm looking for some advice. I'm a photographer looking to learn re-touching for product photography. Jewelery, in particular I am finding really difficult. I have tried to attach some images I'm hoping it works if not there is more of my work that can be seen here:
http://s1064.photobucket.com/user/ro...ewelery?sort=3

I am doing the basic healing and cloning on the images but I get confused when it comes to which blur or noise filter I should use. I am using adjustment layers for all of it so I can affect just part of the image. I'm just not sure where I should go to find out how to learn this type of retouching work. So any advice or help if greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ballslayers.jpg (33.4 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg lightssharpened-2.jpg (31.4 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg salt2.2sharpened-2.jpg (63.3 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg heartsharpened-2.jpg (45.7 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg coalsharpened-2.jpg (69.7 KB, 31 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-01-2017, 04:19 PM

Re: Looking for help retouching products

There is no blur. I assume you know how the jewelry is shot with multiple light set ups and multiple focus planes for a single image, open aperture, shallow DOF etc...

For retouching - no blur. Pen tool for masking, Micro painting, cloning and DNB. Add noise as desired/need for the area or an entire shot.
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-02-2017, 01:08 AM