RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Eliminating Color Artifacts

Old 11-07-2002, 01:37 PM

Lightbulb Eliminating Color Artifacts

If this is common knowledge in the Photoshop world, I apologize. Although I've been in and around photography most of my life, I'm new to digital and PS.

To get rid of the color noise that appears in underexposed digital images I do the following:
1) Make a duplicate layer of the image.
2) Do a Gaussian Blur of the dupe. Use enough blur to eliminate the noise spots.
3) Set the dupe layer's blend mode to 'Color'.
That's it.

I've attached a small PS file to demo the procedure. You'll probably have to zoom in to see the effect.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2002, 10:18 AM

Hi Dick,
Thanks for the cool tip. I have to try that one out. Oh, for some reason the file didn't follow your post. You might want to check the size and resubmit it.

I was taught another way to deal with color noise especially in digital photos by changing it to LAB mode and adding a soft blur to the A and B channels. I will have to try yours and see if it may be a better way. Thanks again for the great tip.
DJ
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-08-2002, 08:11 PM

Hi Dick, thanks for sharing the tip (what is common knowledge for some may not be for all - so it is good to spread the good stuff around. <g>)

Similar to this previous thread:

http://www.retouchpro.com/forums/sho...?threadid=4113

P.S. Attachment paths seem to drop off the interface when you preview your post...if you preview they must be reentered again? At least this seems so on Win98/IE5...should this be reported as a bug to Doug?