RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Your Most Difficult Retouch

Old 12-26-2003, 05:59 PM

Smile Your Most Difficult Retouch

To all folks,

I am a professional photographer who discovered this wonderful forum recently. I do all the retouch work myself for more than 2 years. It will be great if everybody can share their most difficult retouch experiences.

For me, the human eyes has also been the most difficult. My studio does mainly 16x20 or larger prints. At this size, any wrong move means disaster. I don't know about you folks, but I have not yet find any good reference books both in-store and online on how to retouch or enhance the eyes. If you happened to have some good information, I am all ears.

Thanks for sharing!
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-26-2003, 06:48 PM

I know this gets recommended for everything, but the later sections in Katrin Eismann's book, in particular the second edition, have some good tips on this - and many of the contributors of techniques in that area do a lot of advertising work that is reproduced SERIOUSLY big.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-27-2003, 08:08 AM

Your Most Difficult Retouch

Leah,

Thanks for sharing. I do own the first edition of Katrin Eismann's book. I believe the sections on enhancing eyes are from pages 216 to 229. I use a lot of these techniques already, however, she did not emphasize much on how to enhance the catchlights. I wish there is a book that dedicate a sizeable section on the eyes.

Again, if anybody have any information, I am all ears.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-27-2003, 09:21 AM

Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
Hi Larry,

Welcome aboard. Here's a tutorial that *might* be in step with what you're looking for. Enjoy!

Ed
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-27-2003, 06:20 PM

Ed,