RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Grey skin tones

Old 12-29-2003, 10:32 PM

Question Grey skin tones

I am relatively new to Photo Elements and restoration in general. I've been successful in restoring a lot of old black and white photos, but find myself struggling with correcting the skin tone in these color photos of my daughter Susie. Many of these digital photos taken by my in-laws show Susie with a very grey skin tone. I've tried the automatic color correction modes and also bought the Power of Hidden Elements book, but can't seem to get it right.

Susie passed away unexpectedly this past year and I'm anxious to salvage every last picture I have of her.

Any thoughts or ideas on how to make these adjustements would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 21-300.jpg (34.2 KB, 129 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-30-2003, 12:03 AM

Hi Debbie!

First of all, let me say I'm sorry to hear about your daughter. She is a beautiful young girl.

I use PS CS not Elements but on my screen Susie looks great. The photo appears to be very neutral, that is, without color cast. The R, B and G values are all close to equal. Plus, when I look at the CMYK values it has close to equal values of Magenta and Yellow which again is what you normally want for a Caucasian child. The only thing I could suggest is to reduce the light falloff by moving the Mid Tone slider in Levels to the left in R, B and G.
There are certainly ways to change Susie's sking tone but to me she looks terrific.

Cheers
Duv
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-30-2003, 03:51 AM

Hi Debbie