RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

newbie retouching

Old 02-27-2005, 05:46 PM

newbie retouching

Hi, i am a newbie in this retouching world, and to digital photography in general, and a very entusiast one, ready to learn new tricks!!!. Last vacations i took a shot from my wife and mother in law, and i had the sun behinf them. I took others shots with the "back light" option from my nikon coolpix 2200. I trid to retotuch it with PS, with the lights/shadow adjustment, and to avoid the new noise introduced by the last step a median noise of 1,5%. I am not very happy with the results, so i seek help from anyone with more knowledge. Thanks and congratulations for running such a nice forum!!!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN1197 chica.jpg (80.8 KB, 54 views)
File Type: jpg arreglin 1.jpg (82.1 KB, 63 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-28-2005, 02:50 AM

Hola el jue,

Welcome to RP!

I think you did a pretty good job on your picture already .... in my opinion the background highlights were a bit 'blown' and the picture was just a tad 'flat' ....

What I did is:

Like you, I used Shadows/Highlights tweaking the sliders of Shadows (Amount and Tonal Width) and the Highlights (Amount by moving the slider to the right, the highlights decrease) ....

Instead of the Median Filter, I used Neat Image, very soft settings (Neat Image can be downloaded free here ) to minimize the noise.

I then used a Selective Colors and a Levels Adjustment Layers to improve tone and contrast.

Hope this helps...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F_arreglin-1.jpg (98.6 KB, 62 views)

Last edited by Flora; 02-28-2005 at 08:33 AM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 02-28-2005, 05:30 AM