RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photo Retouching
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photo Retouching "Improving" photos, post-production, correction, etc.

Video Tutorial on Blending Exposures for Added Dynamic Range

Old 03-06-2005, 05:09 PM

Video Tutorial on Blending Exposures for Added Dynamic Range

I added a new video tutorial to my site today that demonstrates how to blend two images together quickly and easily in Photoshop. I'm a photographer, not a painter or a sketch artist, so this technique does not use the brush tool.

http://tinyurl.com/6omxy

Please be patient with the download. It is a 12 minute Quicktime video with high quality MPEG4 800x600 video and high quality audio.

You will want a DSL, Cable Modem, or T1 connection. This is a streaming file and bandwidth is limited, so you may need to try later, if you run into a problem. My site generates a lot of downloads, so please be patient and you will be able to view the video.

The same technique is explained in a recent PDF tutorial. Feel free to download it, also.

http://tinyurl.com/3v5c6

Credit for the technique goes to Michael Reichmann of "The Luminious Landscape" and George DeWolfe of "Camera Arts" Magazine. I've merely popularized and provided a little more detail.

Feel free to look around my Digital Darkroom and download anything else that interests you.

Cheers,

Mitch
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-08-2005, 12:56 AM

Hi Mitch,

Great video tutorial .... thanks again for sharing your great methods!

One thing .... The video from your link and the .pdf Tutorial from the other are, apparently, about two completely different topics .... meaning ... the video is about the Overlay technique for 'dodging and burning' while the .pdf Tutorial is about combining two images together .....

Since, clearly, both are aimed to 'lift shadows and toning down highlights' to balance dark and light areas in an image .... I guess you meant it this way ....