RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photography
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photography Both digital and film. Discussions about cameras, gear, exposure, technique, and sharing your photography

Nikon D50 vs Canon Rebel XT (8mp)

Old 11-21-2006, 03:25 PM

Nikon D50 vs Canon Rebel XT (8mp)

Hey all,
Would ppl in the know please help me choose a digital slr? Im an amateur, will be experimenting a lot. I have read a lot of reviews, they both (from title) seem equally good. In your experience, which one will be better?
Oh, also, whats a good lens to get started with?
Thanks a bunch in advance.
Fatima
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-21-2006, 04:41 PM

Re: Nikon D50 vs Canon Rebel XT (8mp)

This could be an endless discussion. There are a large number of photographers in the Canon camp and probably just as many in the Nikon camp. If you are starting from scratch, I'd look for the best deal...I don't think you could go wrong with either brand. The type of lens you buy depends on the type of pictures you plan to take and if this is a casual hobby or a serious undertaking.
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-21-2006, 06:57 PM

I'm a Canon person but recognize that Nikon is an excellent camera and that the two companies seem to be competing heavily for the lion's share of the market.

When I was researching, I found http://www.fredmiranda.com to be an excellent resource for both camps, Nikon and Canon. Also http://www.dpreview.com has top notch reviews on camera gear. You won't go wrong with either.

Janet
Reply With Quote top
Old 11-21-2006, 07:35 PM

Well, I hate to complicate things further, but just a few days ago Nikon announced the D40, which will eventually replace the D50. The list price of the D40 is $300 less than the D50, $$ that could be spent on a better lens or other assessories, like an extra battery, case, memory cards, etc.

See http://www.dpreview.com/articles/nikond40/