RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photography
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photography Both digital and film. Discussions about cameras, gear, exposure, technique, and sharing your photography

Taking Photo's with a backlight.

Old 06-04-2007, 08:27 AM

Taking Photo's with a backlight.

Hello, I'm an amateur obviously, and I've been trying to take pictures of the sun setting and I'm trying to get color into the foreground, i.e. the grass and fence posts, etc....but I'm not having very good luck at finding the right settings. Could someone give me some advice on aperture and shutter speed, etc... they use to do a similar photo?

Thank you in advance,

Kyle
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-04-2007, 09:18 AM

Re: Taking Photo's with a backlight.

If your camera will allow it:

Take a meter reading of the area you want detail in, set your camera on manual, dial in that reading, then recompose and shoot away.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-04-2007, 09:34 AM

or as I do, take 2-3 shots, some under exposed and some over exposed. Then blend them to make a shot that has a nice looking sky/sun and a clear foreground.

Another way is to use a graduated filter to reduce the light from the sun, but keep the foreground bright
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-04-2007, 10:35 AM

I have a digital rebel XT so I have a lot of options with my settings. I have no meter or anything like to take readings with, so I guess I just need to play more with the settings.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-04-2007, 11:37 AM

I have an older Rebel and it has a manual setting on it. Read the instruction manual that came with the camera, it should tell you how to do this. (the meter is built into the camera)
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-04-2007, 02:19 PM