Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photography
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photography Both digital and film. Discussions about cameras, gear, exposure, technique, and sharing your photography

Preparation for an ambitious composite shoot!

Old 11-10-2011, 05:23 AM
Lightbulb Preparation for an ambitious composite shoot!

I have been asked by a friend to do a series of 4 seasonally-themed shots for a cycle shop. The idea is to put together four 'story' images of things happening - rough example might be a guy riding through the shop with people jumping out of his way.

This clearly calls for some compositing rather than shooting everything together - I have some experience of this but I think this is going to be another level entirely from what I've done before so I thought I'd drop by here and see if anyone has any advice please!

Obviously when this concept came to mind, my first thought was commercial composite work like... Dave Hill. From years of lurking I know his name is kind of taboo around here, so before you leap at me, I have no interest in mimicing his visual style - I'm fully aware of the kind of time and meticulous post work that goes into his images. I'm also aware his work involves huge budgets and lots of extra hands to help out (wardrobe, hair, makeup, etc etc)! There's no way I can afford all that and I'm trying to be realistic about what is achievable. What I'm more interested in is suggestions for preparation for shooting diverse elements for my final composition in a way that will make comping as easy as possible.