RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > Photography
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photography Both digital and film. Discussions about cameras, gear, exposure, technique, and sharing your photography

Switching to speedlights instead of studio lights!

Old 10-19-2012, 01:58 PM

Question Switching to speedlights instead of studio lights!

Hey, so Photoshool is over meaning I don't have access to a studio anymore. I'm starting to invest in small, easy to carry (especially in the subway!) equipment for light but I am not very experienced in using speedlights so I am unsure of what exactly I need to make this work.

So far I bought a used Nikon SB-900 from a friend and ordered a 76cm Ezybox (A softbox for speedlights). But else do I need? I suppose I need a lightstand which can easily be transported when one doesn't own a car and can be set high enough for paramound light and is also sturdy enough not to be knocked over by wind when shooting outside? I'm also very confused about the best way to trigger my speedlights when using my Nikon D700. Go wireless? Cables? What do I need other than what I already have in order to make this work?
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-20-2012, 05:33 AM
Patron

Re: Switching to speedlights instead of studio lig

Lightstand will be very useful if you cannot get a friend to hold the flash for you. Most lightstands collapse into a portable size but many are not heavy enough on their own to withstand being blown over, so you may need to get creative on site to find something to stabilise the base

I certainly would not consider cable for this type of outside work but would look at wireless options. The ones most often mentioned are PocketWizards but they come at a premium price. There are a few triggers from other companies such as the Cactus, Yongnuo or iShoot may not be of the same quality but should do the job
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-20-2012, 05:15 PM