RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software > Photoshop Elements Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photoshop Elements Help Questions and answers about Adobe Photoshop Elements (all versions).
One question per thread, please.

PE2: Color burn mode?

Old 08-01-2003, 05:53 PM

PE2: Color burn mode?

I am a relative newbie with PE2. I tried using the color burn mode to tint a scene. I did it as follows: Using the color burn mode on a new layer, I tinted the scene with the paint brush. In creating the new color burn mode layer, I could have chosen to have the layer covered with the color burn neutral color white or leave that new layer transparent. I tried tinting with the paint brush on the color burn mode layer, with and without using the color burn neutral color white and the results of tinting with the paint brush seemed to be the same. That is, in one case the color burn layer was filled with white and in the other case it was transparent before I started tinting. In both cases tinting with the paint brush appeared to have the same results.
Why would one use the neutral color white in a color burn layer (or black in a color dodge layer) rather than leaving the layer transparent?
Thanks.
Richard Hirschman
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-01-2003, 07:43 PM

Rich, I don't use APSE, but what you describe sounds correct.

The neutral colour in a blend mode is treated as transparent.

Why is this a benefit when one can as you say paint on an empty layer to do the same thing?

In the full version, one often uses channel blends in layers - which I believe APE can do with Richards HP tools.

So when blending say the RED channel data in a layer in a blend mode over an image...there is no transparency and there is only white/black/levels of gray. In this case knowing that white, black or 50% gray is treated as neutral (transparent) is a big deal.