RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software > Photoshop Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photoshop Help Tips, questions, and solutions for Adobe Photoshop users
One tip or question per thread, please

USM layer to highlight dust, then delete layer?

Old 01-29-2009, 09:52 PM

USM layer to highlight dust, then delete layer?

Hi all,

I'm new here and it looks like a helpful community. I'm also pretty new to Photoshop, so please bear with me.

Lately, I've grown tired of healing dust spots only to reveal ones that I'd missed, when sharpening at the end of the job.

First I tried fooling with the history palette. Set it up with the linear history option. USM as my first adjustment, revealing all the dust in gritty detail. Then lots of cloning to remove the dust, and then trying (unsuccessfully) to simply delete the USM state, leaving all my healing work intact.

No dice. Doesn't seem to work for me. I can apparently delete the USM state from the list, but its effects still remain.

Next I played with layers, but could only get to a point where I applied USM to a copy of the bgnd layer to bring the dust into sharp view, then toggled it on and off and cloned away without seeing the effects of my work "as it happens". I know some people do this, but I figure there must be a better way.

Is there any way to create a USM layer that lets me see where the dust is, and allows me to see the effect of the healing brush as I'm using it...on another layer? I really don't want to commit to a USM setting till the image is done.
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-29-2009, 10:38 PM

Re: USM layer to highlight dust, then delete layer

Hello and welcome.

The problem is that you are sampling all layers while healing. So the heal also picks up the sharpening.