Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software > Photoshop Help
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Photoshop Help Tips, questions, and solutions for Adobe Photoshop users
One tip or question per thread, please

Software options??

Old 04-01-2010, 06:11 PM
Software options??

Hey Everyone! My name is Katie and I'm new here, wondering if anyone can help me shift through some photoshop information. Im a beginner with the software and use photoshop 7.0 at school. I am looking to buy it for home and don't know that much about it. What should I be looking for, How much will it cost? Which version is the best? etc. Let me know if you have any tips. Thanks!!
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-01-2010, 07:37 PM
Re: Software options??

Katie, welcome to RetouchPro. If you are a student, you are most likely eligable for the Educational version of PS which is identical to the commercial version. The discount is quite substantial.
On April 12 Adobe is making a major splash to announce Photoshop CS5 (Version 11). I would recommend you wait the 2 weeks and check it out.
Regards, Murray
Reply With Quote top
Old 04-01-2010, 09:30 PM
Re: Software options??

Another option (since students are always looking to save some $), is to look for older versions to drop in price a few weeks (or months) after CS5 is released. If you are used to Version 7, any upgrade will bring tons of new tools and concepts. If you are also a photographer, consider upgrading to CS4. The version of Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) that comes in that version is superior to older versions and supports most cameras. The ability to work with RAW files is a major plus, and speeds many corrections to JPG files as well.