RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > RetouchPRO LIVE
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

RetouchPRO LIVE Discussion and announcements for RetouchPRO LIVE events

Photoshop questions for Steve Koshlap ring show

Old 09-01-2012, 11:30 AM

Photoshop questions for Steve Koshlap ring show

Hi there,

Not sure where I should put this post, so thought I'd put it here as someone may know how to work with PS5. I have a good basic working knowledge of PS5 - but not yet fully up to speed with the keyboard commands - something I'm still learning.

Basically, I watched the Steve Koshlap video tutorial - the ring one - and towards the very end he works with a diamond tiara and bracelet. I've been trying to replicate some of his 'moves' but because he didn't fully explain the keyboard commands he is using as he went along. So, I'm having a hard time being able to apply his methods to some of my own photos.

I prefer his method to the one I've been using to get a white background and work with the shadows that are already there.

So, if anyone has watched it, maybe you can help fill me in on the details?

Ok, so where I'm stuck is (I'll upload a screenshot as it may also be easier to explain that way):

1/ I've done created many different paths of a piece but for some reason, everytime I select the 'overall path', and work with it on a layer, all the surrounding area can only be worked on and not the item iself. When I save a path, do I have to invert before saving? Shouldn't it save the enclosed path automatically?

2/ How do I select one path while leaving out a portion of it? In this video, Steve toggles back and forth between the paths/channels and then chooses the hue/saturation mask selection. What is he pressing as he is selecting each path in order to subtract, say, the diamonds portion from the entire selection? And, why is there a blackened mask? (see attachment 'blackenedoutlayermask.jpg)