RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Technique > RP Tutorials
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

RP Tutorials Discussion for tutorials published via our automated system, and about the tutorial publishing system itself.

Good images gone BAD!

Old 09-18-2008, 11:01 AM

Good images gone BAD!

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to CS3, but working hard to learn the capabilities. I have images that I have made on to a transparent background made into ovals, circles, elipses, rounded edges with the select/modify/soften. I commence to the FX for drop shadow and bevel/emboss, get the look that I want...
...then it all falls apart. I save for web and devices (for my websites) as a .gif and the image looks horrible. Jagged edges, drop shadow isn't "3D-ish" anymore, bevel is a mess. What am I doing wrong?
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-18-2008, 12:58 PM

Re: Good images gone BAD!

have you tried saving as a jpeg instead? what level of quality are you saving the image out?
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-18-2008, 01:06 PM

Thanks for your reply. I have tried everything that I can think of. When I save as a gif, it looks as though it was a jpg, jpeg. Besides, I can't use as a jpeg becuase of transparency. I'm trying to get some help from a digital designer for the local University to help me. She doesn't seem to have much time.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-18-2008, 02:36 PM

Save as PNG.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-18-2008, 02:44 PM

Hi Swampy - I have tried that. The resource for my website does not support .png only gif, jpg, jpeg. I know, it's stinks. I may try to save as png and just see if that will help, but it won't do me any good unless the site supported it. BTW, it's through Homestead. thanks for the reply!!
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-18-2008, 02:47 PM

It might help if you posted a sample.
Reply With Quote top
Old 09-18-2008, 06:41 PM

hi,
I am novice but maybe i can help....
now it would have been if you posted the image to see for sure...