RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Community > Salon
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Salon Just hanging around...
(Social area, where non-retouching talk is encouraged)

Hi from Los Angeles County, CA from a Newbie....

Old 05-18-2007, 06:33 PM

Newbie Hi from Los Angeles County, CA from a Newbie....

Just wanted to come in & introduce myself as I'm brand new here. I've been taking pictures for many years & have "dabbled" in some PP, but very lightly. I've mostly been working in Elements 2.0, but last year upgraded to 4.0. Right now I'm trying out PS2, but feel fairly lost as it doesn't act as Elements on some things. I'm running a downloaded trial version & that leaves me rather lost.

I've been shooting jpg for about 6 years with many different versions of P&S cameras, but last year invested in a Nikon D200, which I love, especially after learning about RAW. Now I'm finding that the learning curve for the camera is equaled by the learning curve of software to manipulate the pictures. Time consuming, but I do enjoy it.

I'm trying to decide if I should just stick with Elements or upgrade to PS2 or PS3. Reason this became more an issue is that my daughter, who wishes to become a stage actress, needed head shots so I'm trying to do those for her.

I mostly shoot wildlife, scenic photography & our pets. Now I have to deal with head shots & portraits, which are not something I overly like but will do for my family.

Anyhow, hi & here I am & I'm happy to have found this place.

Lil
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-18-2007, 06:42 PM

Re: Hi from Los Angeles County, CA from a Newbie....

Hi, Lil... Welcome aboard. Wave at my son out there on the west coast (he lives in Glendale and works at Disney in Burbank).