RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Community > Salon
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Salon Just hanging around...
(Social area, where non-retouching talk is encouraged)

Greetings from NYC

Old 02-13-2008, 10:25 AM

Greetings from NYC

Hi everyone. This is my first post here but I've been lurking around for a few weeks. This looks like a great bunch of people!

I've been working as a full time retoucher for a little over 4 years, before that I did it freelance along with building mechanicals, comping, etc. If you read magazines or drive past billboards you've probably seen my work. I've done ads for Johnson and Johnson, GMC, Electrolux, Nokia, Snuggle, and many more. I got laid off January 1st when the company I worked for was dissolved by the parent agency (StudioPSD was the company, Lowe New York is the agency), so I'm currently looking for work. I have my portfolio together in a book and as a PDF, but I haven't put it online. If prospective employers ask for it online I post a PDF with a password just for them. Am I being too paranoid? I'm not really worried about being sued by a photographer or a celebrity, I am a little worried about having my images "appropriated" by internet dwellers (not by anyone here though!), but mainly I want to be courteous to the photographers whose work I've handled.