RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Community > Salon
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Salon Just hanging around...
(Social area, where non-retouching talk is encouraged)

Another problem.

Old 09-05-2008, 01:31 AM
Patron

Another problem.

One of my 1G memory modules failed. Knew I was getting more and more unstable since I had to recover from a computer crash a week ago. Way to lazy to retype the details, but for the interested, click here. Man; I keep having to remind myself that if it wasn't for bad luck, I wouldn't have any luck at all. lol

Reply With Quote top
Old 09-05-2008, 10:29 AM

Re: Another problem.

hi Ikroll,
I read your details and it could be just bad luck and coincidence so many failure in a short time .... but my background is electronics and I think of other things....
1. the brand... some brands of memory are better than others, i generally don't trust anything out of china.... poor manufacturing and poor quality control.... canyou correlate the bad chip to a particular company?
2. could be that just a bad batch of memory....... unlucky enough to get all your ram from the same batch..... I remember back in i believe 1988-89 .. there was huge bad batch of ram being sold across the country..... some time it was noticable when installed windows or or some other large programs..... i remember some of the local pc shope there in SD were doing there own memory tests before selling... they were getting tired of the returns.. smiling..
note: just recently helped a person who bought 2 1g ram chips ... had minor problems turns out 1 of the 2 new chips were bad!!!
3. power..... i run into this a lot... a power supply that not bad but putting out to much power..... over time that will weaken components then go bad....