RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Community > Salon
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Salon Just hanging around...
(Social area, where non-retouching talk is encouraged)

Hello from LA (lower Alabama)

Old 01-04-2009, 04:47 PM

Hello from LA (lower Alabama)

I said hello on another post, but I thought I'd tell a bit more about myself here.
I've been running my own graphic and web design biz since '02, and recently branched out into publishing and portrait photography. I just got my first DSLR a few months ago, a Canon Xt, which I absolutely love. I was looking at the Nikons, but this worked out well, because my brother also has a Canon, so we can share lens, filters, etc.
I'm mostly self-taught on anything computer related - I started out using the Macromedia products, then switched over to Adobe about 3 years ago. I guess you could say I'm hooked, because I spend over ten hours a day on my computer, and I almost never play games - I'm always trying some new technique, or learning something new - and there is so much still out there to learn!
I'm married to my best friend, and we've got a blended family of 6 - his two, my three, and we have one together. we are most definitely NOT the Brady Bunch. We've also got 9 of the most beautiful, intelligent and talented grandchildren in the world, and I am not in the least biased. (LOL)
Besides running my own business, I help my husband with his bookkeeping and tax customers, which he has as a side business. We both enjoy working in our local Assembly church: he teaches adult Sunday School, I lead kids' worship, and we sing.
At fifty, I am enjoying the freedom that comes from being satisfied with who and what I am; I learned several years ago that I can be and do what I want, and I dont' care what anyone else thinks. I have very strong beliefs, but I respect others for what they believe in too.