RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Community > Salon
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Salon Just hanging around...
(Social area, where non-retouching talk is encouraged)

Finally De-lurking!

Old 02-10-2009, 11:46 PM

Wink Finally De-lurking!

Hi! I've been lurking around here for quite a while here (I had another username for the past year or so, but it got a bug in it and could never make a post, so I [finally] re-joined with my 'usual' online handle this month), and finally made it to post my first post and introduce myself.

A little about me:

My name's Lily. I'm an artist and have worked professionally in almost all aspects of photography. I started out in theater, went to hair & makeup and got my cosmetology license in '93. Worked in salons to pay my way through art school (illustration). Was planning on being an illustrator/portrait artist until I started classes in PS...and one in particular - Photo reconstruction and restoration - and it was all 'downhill' from there. Worked in photo studios doing hair and makeup until one studio noticed some retouching work I had done in school and offered to professionally train me in negative retouching and photo finishing in early '99 (aw yeah!). Got professionally trained in more digital retouching that same year. Worked in-house for a while, then freelance. Started doing photography for my own photo-references for my artwork, and then got addicted. I do portrait work (white on black colored pencil, sometimes with color) here and there, but mainly just for myself/to show instead of to sell or commission.

Currently, I do fine art portraiture & photography (people come to me, I do all their hair/makeup/photos/etc), fantasy art photography, and (my passion) photo restorations/reconstructions when I can.