Go Back   RetouchPRO > Community > Salon
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Salon Just hanging around...
(Social area, where non-retouching talk is encouraged)

Total newbie excited to be here!!

Old 03-28-2009, 10:42 AM
Talking Total newbie excited to be here!!

My name is Doug and I am brand new to this forum. It was recommended by a friend at where I post regularly.

I have just discovered this new world of photo retouching in the last couple weeks. It seems as if it has been waiting for me my whole life. I used to marvel at the examples of retouched and repaired photos, but I discovered that it was done with the help of software. Until that time, it seemed like magic to me! (Yes, I was that much in the dark!)

I was attracted to this because it perfectly fits my personality and temperament. I love to sit and do long, attention demanding, detail oriented projects, and I have a flair for the artistic.
So this is right "up my alley"! I have watched some tutorials on YouTube, downloaded Gimp, and completed maybe a half dozen projects, and am tickled pink by the results! (I even put hair on my bald head!) I know and am confident that I can learn and master this, with time and patience, of course. I am a sponge just soaking up everything I can learn!

I am really glad to be here!
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2009, 11:11 AM
Smile Re: Total newbie excited to be here!!

if i had only half your enthusiasm i'd be running on rocket fuel...wishing you all the best,
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-28-2009, 07:52 PM
Re: Total newbie excited to be here!!

I think the whole field is pretty exciting, but I think my initial focus, as an abecedarian in this field, will have to be in restoration of damaged photos.

I have always been entranced by old black and white photos from the 1800's and thereabouts. They are time capsules!