Go Back   RetouchPRO > Community > Salon
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Salon Just hanging around...
(Social area, where non-retouching talk is encouraged)

Hello Folks!

Old 08-18-2009, 06:27 PM
Hello Folks!

Hey folks!

Glad to be here. Looking forward to passing what i have learned as well as recieving C&C and tips.

I am rather new to this i guess. It all started when I bought my first DSLR Camera last September. I started shooting and learning how aperature, shutter, and ISO all intermix. Once i started getting the hang of it, i started to realize that a lot of my wedding photo's from that summer just were not up to snuff, the composition was great, but they were all underexposed, tilted, etc. I took it upon myself to learn how to correct the problems with the pictures.

At first it was simple, correct the horizon, blemish tool, levels adjustment..

Then i started noticing bigger issues and started cloning and working on color corrections, layers, masking, cloning, etc..

Then I just quit working on the wedding album for a while. I got tired of re-doing each photo from scratch with the new techniques i had picked up! So i went through about a dozen books on CS3, scores of online tutorials, and i finally hit the point where im not learning anything new from a lot of the books or tutorials.

So i revisted the album, ended up redoing about half the pictures again from scratch and finally got it to where i wanted and i am now waiting for the finished book to arrive from Blurb to give to my wife on our anniversary in a few weeks.

Ive been searching for pictures to correct and restore. I just find all of this to be a very relaxing and rewarding process, and now im on the lookout for my next project, in the meantime i have some friends/family/co-workers who are getting thier most damaged photos so i can take a whack at fixing them.

Nice to be here!
Reply With Quote top
Old 08-19-2009, 10:31 PM
Re: Hello Folks!