Go Back   RetouchPRO > Community > Salon
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Salon Just hanging around...
(Social area, where non-retouching talk is encouraged)

Old 10-29-2002, 12:00 PM

Hi ! My name is Ken and I am about to close the book on one career and hopefully get into a second career in digital imagery/photography.

This coming March I will retire from the Federal Government (DOD civilian) where I worked as a Comptroller, Budget Director, Information Resource Manager and Business Manager. I will only be 55 at the time of retirement so I am too young to sit around and watch the grass grow.

I have always had a hobby level interest in photography but a year or so back decided that I needed to get some formal training to improve my knowledge and skills. I have taken basic and advanced B&W courses, and am currently taking the basic color course at the local community college. The basic color course is about 50% photography and 50% Photoshop in content.

On my own I started out with Photoshop Elements but since I am a registered student at an accredited college was able to buy Photoshop 6.01 educational version (doesn't seem to be any different functionally than regular Photoshop ) for a pretty decent price.

I am not very skilled yet in Photoshop but between formal classes and informal resources like this I hope to become proficient enough to find entry level type work in digital imagery and to enjoy the self satisfaction from taking and enhancing my own pictures and maybe even turning those pictures into what could be called "art"

I am glad to be here and look foreward to a long and pleasant association with the members of this board.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-29-2002, 01:11 PM
Hi Ken,
Welcome to Retouch Pro I'm sure you will love it here, there are a lot of very good people on these forums.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-29-2002, 01:30 PM
Thanks for the warm welcome Sanda.
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-29-2002, 04:04 PM