RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Photoshop, Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

Photoshop v5.5 to CS2 with upgrade?

Old 06-01-2005, 02:28 AM

Photoshop v5.5 to CS2 with upgrade?

Hi! Hope this is the right forum; please forgive me if it's not. I have a question concerning Photoshop CS2, is it possible to upgrade from a licensed version of Photoshop v5.5 to CS2 using the CS2 upgrade that can be bought for about £130?

Also, if it is possible, What forms do I need to fill out to complete a transfer of the licence from the previous owner to myself?

I've seen Photoshop 5.5 for sale in my local ads for £50 you see and being a student I don't have much money but would like CS2!

Finally, is there anything I should look out for to make sure I'm getting a genuine copy?

Thank you all very much in advance, Chris.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-01-2005, 03:10 AM
Janitor

5.5 to CS2 is a valid upgrade path. But transferring a licence can be tricky, and usually involves calling up Adobe on the phone.

You might just want to take advantage of the academic discount program:
http://www.adobe.co.uk/education/pur.../students.html
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-01-2005, 03:52 AM

Thanks for the speedy reply Doug, The academic version although cheaper is still about £300 here in the UK. Also, I understand you're not meant to use the academic version for commercial purposes which I may consider doing later on, I just wouldn’t want to be limited if the opportunities arose.

Licence transfer seems to be my only viable option really; do you have any information on who I might contact at Adobe to start the process?
Cheers, Chris.
Reply With Quote top
Old 06-01-2005, 04:26 AM
Janitor