Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Photoshop, Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

Adobe Elements

Old 12-01-2001, 10:29 AM
Adobe Elements

With Photoshop out of my budget for now, I decided to give Adobe Elements a try.
At Doug's suggestion, I took a shot atRestoration Challenge #16 "Boothed" using only Adobe Elements.
Keep in mind that I have very little experience with Photoshop, generally using PSP; someone experienced with PS would likely do much better than I with this.
This restore is also a "NO Clone" version. I adapted some steps from Tim's great description on this challenge.
For the un-exposed, Adobe ELEMENTS offers a minimal set of the tools found in Photoshop. What it does, it does with well. It does not, however, allow you to use masks or channels--though you can cheat quite easily mask-wise. I does support many if not most Photoshop-compatible plug-ins and filters.
With the Alpha Channel unavailable, the layers take center stage. Using layers, you can essentially create masks. More steps are necessary in many cases, but it does give a different look to some processes.
I've uploaded the results as if it were a regular restore, description et al., and thought to offer it here as well.
Anyone else using Elements?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg challenger16ae.jpg (36.4 KB, 47 views)
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-01-2001, 12:29 PM
Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL

It looks like you've done a real nice job on it. I gotta see the description! Does "Elements" support layer masks, or are there no masks at all? Not sure I could live very long without layer masks.

Reply With Quote top
Old 12-01-2001, 01:17 PM

Elements does not have layer mask commands as such.