Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Photoshop, Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

Adobe CS Photoshop - Ctrl Z

Old 01-07-2006, 06:12 PM
Adobe CS Photoshop - Ctrl Z

Version 8, I am a newbie to this. I use PSP & PhotoImpact as a rule never tried Photoshop. Well my question is this I have spent a hour using it getting around learning whats what.. One thing I would like to change is, When you like to remove last brush strokes it only does it once using "CTRL Z"
How can I alter the delete settings ? So whenI use CTRL Z I am able to delete last 6 brush strokes! Thankyou.

Last edited by byRo; 01-08-2006 at 03:35 PM. Reason: Made title more informative
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-07-2006, 08:29 PM
Photoshop has what is known as a "History palette" that consists of "states." Each state, in effect, is the equivalent of one "ctrl + z."

To see how this works, open any image, apply several filters and brush strokes to it. Then, from the Window menu, choose History. Click on the History states to "undo" or "redo."

The number of History states Photoshop will save is specified among the Preferences settings. The higher the value, the more RAM Photoshop uses.

Does this help?

Reply With Quote top
Old 01-07-2006, 09:38 PM
Ctl-z acts as a toggle. Once removes last opperation. Again, restores it.

To get the effect you want use Clt-Alt-z to step backwards multiple steps. If you have gone too far back, use Ctl-Shft-z to go foreward.

Took me awhile to get used to it, but now I'm happy with it.

The history state can be used as Danny suggested. This is the keyboard method.

Reply With Quote top
Old 01-08-2006, 03:08 PM