RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Photoshop, Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

Capture One, Using Curves to correct overexposed Files

Old 01-17-2006, 12:41 PM

Capture One, Using Curves to correct overexposed Files

Hi,

I overexposed several EOS Mark II RAW Files. They are more than one stop overexposed. I do not like the results using C1 Level Tool so I want to use C1 Curve Tool to correct them and preserve detail in other parts of the overexposed file.

I have very little experience using The Curve Tool so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

Hersul
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-17-2006, 07:49 PM

are the highlights blown out or just overexposed? Blown out is generally a value of 255 is any of the RGB channels..

Generally to lower the exposure try picking the center point in the curves dialog and drag it diagonaly (normal to the original straight line) toward the lower right corner (or upper left depending how you have it setup)..

You might consider posting an image or a portin of one so that other users can point you in the best direction
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-18-2006, 12:41 PM

gho64,

generally, you want to use curves, levels, contrast/brightness, masks or selections to isolate just the blown out areas, and possibly channels. but, as delic points out, if the area is 'blown out', meaning basically a pure white of 255, especially across a large area, then the only handling is to re-shoot the picture or do some detailed hand editing. curves and those tools can only handle things correctly if there are differences in the whites or hues. if it's all monocolor or all white or all black, then curves cant make any distinctions.