RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Photoshop, Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

Help with PSP X2 & File Saving

Old 01-19-2008, 05:53 AM

Help with PSP X2 & File Saving

Hey all - noob here, lol. I am having major issues with PSP X2, and PSD files. On occassion I am able to save a layered image as a PSD file (I work with digital scrapbookers). However, most times it simply merges the file, ruining any efforts I have made. I have tried saving as a TIFF file as well, and same thing (it always tries to merge the layers).

Normally this wouldn't be an issue, however I need to save my creations in PSD format to allow all users to use my work (eg. PSP, PS, PSE, CS, et al).

Any ideas?

Thank you for taking the time to look! It's greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-19-2008, 12:18 PM

Re: Help with PSP X2 & File Saving

Hi Tara... welcome aboard.

I did a quick Google search and did not see anything relevant...

I'm a Photoshop user, so I'm shooting in the dark below to see if I hit anything.

In an attempt to isolate the problem, does it happen if:
* You start with File > New, add some layers, Save as .psd
* Open a layered .psd, add some layers, Save as .psd
* Open a flattened .psd, add some layers, Save as .psd
* Open .jpg, add some layers, Save as .psd
* Open .jpg, Save as .psd, open .psd, add some layers, Save as .psd
* Open .jpg, Save as psp format, open psp file, add some layers, Save as .psd

...Where I'm going here is trying to find some combination that always results in a layered .psd. If you find one, you'll have an idea of "where to start" as a workaround.

Hope this gives you some ideas...
Reply With Quote top
Old 01-19-2008, 06:46 PM

Hi Danny,