RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Photoshop, Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

color settings

Old 03-11-2010, 12:47 PM

color settings

I'm quite new to photoshop and retouch. still need to learn a lot so please excuse me if this question sounds silly...

I have read somewhere recently that before you start working in photoshop you need to set up photoshop's color settings correctly otherwise your monitor will be fooling you. Is this true and if so what's the settings I should apply?

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote top
Old 03-11-2010, 02:57 PM

Re: color settings

Nothing silly about asking a question, especially about color settings, since skin tones and colors of items are very important in retouching. The subject is HUGE, and whole books have been written on color management in digital photography. I'll bet that you don't want to read one of those books right now, but would just like to get started learning Photoshop and practicing your retouching skills. Let me give you a little info and some reference links for future reading, and hopefully some other folks will add their ideas about how to get started and what to do as you gain experience.

You say you are new to Photoshop - what version are you using? You are interested in retouching - are you going to be working with images that will be used on the web or will be printed or both?