RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Photoshop, Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

What Photo Editing software to use??

Old 12-16-2010, 01:00 PM

What Photo Editing software to use??

This is my first post outside of the "hello everyone" post in the Salon and I hope it is an ok question to ask. Currently the only software I have is Aperture, which doesn't have much in the way of editing capabilities. Now that I have found this forum and am getting more and more excited about the possiblities of what can be done I am trying to figure out what software would give me the most bang for my buck. I am a complete newbie when it comes to any type of retouching, but am not affraid to take some classes or just experiment on my own. It seems that tons of you use either PS or lightroom, are these the most often used programs? Will I still be able to use Aperture at all or would upgrading to one of these more powerful tools take away my need for Aperture? I do like the orginazational abilities within Aperture. Should I look at Capture NX2 since I shoot a Nikon? Any insight or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I know this is kind of a vauge questions with about a million possibilites for answers but I am hoping to find the right tool for my needs. I mostly do landscape pics with some candids of people and pets thrown in there but am thinking about buying some lights and trying some portraiture, this site has inspired me! I currently shoot a Nikon D70(hoping to upgrade soon to either a D300 or D700) I work in a 27 imac and have a Epson R2880. Thank you all for any feedback!

Last edited by derfy1212; 12-16-2010 at 01:19 PM.
Reply With Quote top
Old 12-19-2010, 09:29 PM

Re: What Photo Editing software to use??

Hi Fred, welcome.