Welcome to RetouchPRO, the web community for retouchers.
You are currently viewing as an unregistered guest which gives you limited access. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join RetouchPRO today!
If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. If you've forgotten your password, click here.
| | Software Photoshop, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well. | 
07-25-2002, 03:59 PM
|  | Member | | Join Date: Mar 2002 Location: Bedford Ohio
Posts: 72
| | | free backup software I just recieved this e mail today is it legal ? I paid $640.00 for PS6
and recieved free update to PS7. This sounds like a scam | 
07-25-2002, 04:23 PM
|  | Senior Member | | Join Date: Aug 2001 Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,659
| | | I can't seem to open your text file for some reason but I do seem to recall people mentioning that depending on when you bought your version 6 that you were entitled to a free upgrade to 7. It had to be within a few months of the release date of 7. I bought my upgrade 6 last August so I didn't qualify. Since I can't seem to open your attachment, does it seem like it's from Adobe or just some Joe Schmoe Web guy? I think there are others on this site who would know more than I do about it because I believe I heard it here.
DJ | 
07-25-2002, 04:29 PM
|  | Member | | Join Date: Mar 2002 Location: Bedford Ohio
Posts: 72
| | | free backup software I pasted it from notepad if there is another program that you prefer I can try that. It did open for me when I went to try it | 
07-25-2002, 04:48 PM
|  | Senior Member | | Join Date: Aug 2001 Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,659
| | | I have notepad and when I click on your attachment it opens notepad but immediately I get a message saying it can't find some directory of temporary internet files. I'm suspecting that is the place the download goes automatically.
I may be the only one with this problem so don't go through any trouble for me. As I said, I think there are others here who know more about it than I do. Doug may know about it since he's pretty good for ferreting out those type of deals. I just remember hearing about it so before you delete the e-mail see what others can tell you first. It may not be a crazy scam. You could also check with Adobe themselves. I would imagine it would be their offer to begin with.
DJ | 
07-25-2002, 06:25 PM
|  | Senior Member | | Join Date: Aug 2001 Location: northwest Indiana, about 45 minutes from Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,821
| | | I would say that backup software means just that! If you have the program, you are normally granted the right to make one copy of it for backup. If this guy's charging you for burning the CD, well...figure it out yourself.
Ed | 
07-25-2002, 07:09 PM
|  | Senior Member | | Join Date: Oct 2001 Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 565
| | | I don't like it when he says "The only thing you can NOT do is register the software." if it was legal software you would be able to register it. I would steer clear of it if it were me. | 
07-25-2002, 07:17 PM
|  | Senior Member | | Join Date: Aug 2001 Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,659
| | | Well, not being able to read it has a definate disadvantage here. Sounds like you're getting good advice and it's definately not what I was thinking it was.
DJ | 
07-25-2002, 07:55 PM
|  | Janitor | | Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,870
| | It's a scam. Forward it to piracy@adobe.com please. | 
07-26-2002, 03:30 AM
|  | Member | | Join Date: Mar 2002 Location: Bedford Ohio
Posts: 72
| | | backup software Thanks Doug I did what you sugested and forwarded it to Adobe
I myself do not need someone to burn my software,I can do it myself if I would ever wanted to.Just thought it was something to talk about |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 AM. | |
|