RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Photoshop, Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

First steps towards a new adjustment tool

Old 05-03-2015, 09:39 PM
Janitor

First steps towards a new adjustment tool

I decided to split this off from this thread so as to not derail it.

I'm not an engineer, so pardon my fuzziness.

I've got this idea in my head that if we assume a perfect gradient, then compare the tonal range of part of an image to that gradient, the differences could be portrayed as a curve.

Then, if we did the same to a similar tonal range section of another image we'd have another curve. Then some math (I warned you, I'm not an engineer) could be done to determine what would be required to transform the second curve into the first curve. Then that math could be applied to the actual second image section and we'd have a way to adjust images based on other images.

So then we'd have a quick, precise solution to the frequent questions such as "how do I turn a white shoe into a black shoe", not to mention skin tone.

Lightning bolt or dead horse?
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-03-2015, 09:58 PM

Re: First steps towards a new adjustment tool

Hi Doug,

Do you have some images to explain your idea in a more graphical way? Even if they are just sketches on photos it could probably give me better understanding of what you are thinking about.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote top
Old 05-03-2015, 10:06 PM
Janitor

Well, there are several fictional algorithms that would need to exist first.

First, something to examine a selected area and sort the tones from darkest to lightest. That would be the actual thing being compared to the perfect gradient. EDIT: this might not be needed, could be an extraneous step