RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software

Notices

Software Photoshop, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-24-2003, 10:37 AM
winwintoo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 919
PhotoShop 7 for 50 bucks??

Is this too good to be true. I got this "offer" in email. I can't take advantage of it because it's only the PC version, but some of you might be interested.


Take care, Margaret

Last edited by Doug Nelson; 08-25-2003 at 07:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2003, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 43
Hi,

I wonder if this is legal software and not something that has been pirated.

Craig Carlson
Sebastopol,Ca
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2003, 12:14 PM
winwintoo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 919
I was wondering if it was a cheap way to grab credit card numbers and info for mailing lists for spam etc.

Margaret
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2003, 01:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 43
I did a search on Google web sites and news groups, the speculation is that they are out of Russia and the software is pirated. Sure would like to know for sure.

Craig
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2003, 01:48 PM
winwintoo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 919
Yikes!! I just had a vision of entering all the information and submitting the form only to discover that I had been transported to a porn site complete with monthly CC billing for "services rendered"




Sorry I brought this up,

Margaret
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2003, 02:06 PM
DannyRaphael's Avatar
Moderator
Patron
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Near Seattle, Washington, USA
Posts: 5,678
It's good that you brought this up, Margaret, because most people run into these types of 'opportunities' all the time.

Photoshop 7 for $50? Smells fishy to me. It should to anyone.

Besides, with Photoshop 8 around the corner, I'd hold out for the PS8 upgrade which will probably retail for about $139. With PS7, Amazon.com (and possibly other sites) offered a $50 rebate dropping retail to $89 + S/H. I wouldn't be surprised if there were similar deals for PS8 when it comes out (rumored to be) by the end of the year.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2003, 02:15 PM
KenB's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 184
If their address is indicitave of their IP address then they are located in Latin America or somewhere in the Caribbean. Good point Danny made about waiting for PS8. Even if it is a little more money, you're better off dealing with a known merchant, like Amazon.

Ken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2003, 02:19 PM
KenB's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 184
Upon further search I found out they are....

Tiger Computer & Tec Ltda


from Brazil.


Ken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2003, 04:57 PM
sanaka's Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7
Not $50, but definitely Legit...

I found Doug Nelson's thread,
here
, tried the Adobe Elements > PS7 upgrade offer,
here
, and 10 minutes ago received my new copy of PS7 direct from Adobe for $313, including shippping I bought Elements at Costco, so you don't have to be a Microtek customer.

Peace,
Sanaka
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2003, 07:34 PM
Doug Nelson's Avatar
Janitor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,970
Blog Entries: 20
I removed the URL because it is almost certainly a pirate operation. I also sent the address into piracy@adobe.com which is their official email address for forwarding these things.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-25-2003, 08:32 PM
winwintoo's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 919
Thanks Doug. I was remiss in not getting rid of the URL (or for posting it in the first place)

Take care, Margaret
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-25-2003, 11:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 43
Margret,

Actually, I glad that you posted the url, it brings to the surface what some people will do to rip a ligit person/business off and the discussion of this thread on this site may have saved someone here some grief.

Craig
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-26-2003, 08:34 PM
TwinbNJ's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 375
Don't beat yourself up Margaret --- You started the thread with the question --- "too good to be true"

Spam 99.9% of the time should be questioned and is not legit.
Good thread and as always
"if the deal seems too good to be true" --- chances are it's a bad deal.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiReddit! Float This Post!Stumble this Post!Google Bookmark this Post!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!Live Bookmark this Post!Share this post on Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you learn to do "Photo-art"? DannyRaphael Photo-Art 101 18 09-24-2006 12:41 AM
Deep Paint 2.0: Make your Photoshop Image look like a REAL Oil Painting Photomaster Photo-Based Art 18 08-28-2006 01:45 PM
Online Photoshop and Elements e-book project. TimShelbourne Photo Restoration 1 11-29-2005 02:04 PM
Cs Upgrade Romany Photoshop Help 2 02-02-2005 09:59 AM
Pros and Cons of P.S. 7 john_opitz Software 31 04-28-2002 07:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright © 2008 Doug Nelson. All Rights Reserved




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51