RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Software
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Photoshop, Lightroom, Paintshop Pro, Painter, etc., and all their various plugins. Of course, you can also discuss all other programs, as well.

WinXP and Raid 0 and more........

Old 10-17-2003, 09:06 AM

WinXP and Raid 0 and more........

Hi......I'm going from an old Mac to purchasing a new P4 system that will include 2 - 80 GB Hard Drives that I will have set up to run at Raid Zero. I'm new to the PC and WinXP and was wondering if I need to get WinXP Pro rather than WinXP Home to be able to assign the second drive to use for my windows temp files and scratch disk for PSD7? I'd rather just stick to WinXP Home, will WinXP Home let me do this or, do I need to go with XP Pro?
If the system recognizes two drives of equal size as one larger drive in raid 0, how do I go about assigning the second drive to accept my temp files and to use as a scratch disk for Photoshop? I was also, wondering if WinXP will allow me to assign the amount of ram to use to run Photoshop and other programs? Or does WinXP only do that on it's own?
Being that I'm new to the PC and new to WinXP and I will be the only user and not running on a network, learning curve wise and expense wise, I'd rather get WinXP Home. But, will WinXP Home let me do the things I mentioned above? Also, can anyone help me with choosing a good book to learn WinXP? Can you recommend a good one? I'd really appreciate some help with all of the above.
Thank you,
Bob
Reply With Quote top
Old 10-18-2003, 06:34 PM

Hi Bob,

If you want to use one of the Raid functions on your PC you should know that either Raid 0 or Raid1 will result in the oerating system seeing only one hard drive. I believe that either XP home or Pro will work just fine. The main differences between XP Home and XP Pro is in the networking area. If you do not plan on setting up an elaborate network then Home should work OK for you.