RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Topaz Labs Support Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Topaz Labs Support Forum Official support forum for the Topaz line of Photoshop plugins

Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old 12-04-2008, 11:23 AM
Swampy's Avatar
Swampy Swampy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Swamps of Florida
Posts: 4,418
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

REPRODUCIBLE CRASH

Topaz Adjust, CS3, Mac OSX 10.5.5 on a MacPro 4gb ram, OnOne Software Suite 4

If I run TopazAdjust and then try to run OnOne's ColorTune, Focal Point or PhotoTune plugins, I get a hard hang (spinning beach ball) . It takes 5 or 6 attempts at force quit to actually quit Photoshop. I have no problem when I reverse the procedure and run OneOne plugins first then TopazAdjust. It seems like Topaz is not releasing the plug-in engine or memory back to PS.

My work around is currently to do my TA filter, save the file, quit PS, relaunch PS then run the OnOne plugin(s). Not an efficient way to work. All the plugins work find individually, but there's just something about running TA before running an OnOne plugin that is the problem.
Reply With Quote top
  #42  
Old 12-04-2008, 01:15 PM
plugsnpixels's Avatar
plugsnpixels plugsnpixels is offline
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 2,027
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

Swampy, I discussed this very thing with the Topaz developer yesterday, and here is the reason (it has to do with Intel multi-processor support):

"If two plug-ins both use [the] Intel OpenMP library, it will set off this problem. Only Intel can fix this totally. I can disable the multi-processor support, or the other plug-in vendor [can] disable it. It works if only one plug-in is using [the] Intel openMp library."

You have discovered that one must exit PS in order to make a plug-in release the hold on the lib.

I do have a test version of the Topaz lib file without the MP support and it fixes the conflict with onOne, Alien Skin, etc. I will check with Topaz about sharing it.
Reply With Quote top
  #43  
Old 12-04-2008, 01:49 PM
Swampy's Avatar
Swampy Swampy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Swamps of Florida
Posts: 4,418
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

Wonderful news, P&P. Hopefullly Topaz will have a fix soon. If turning off MP support in Topez is the key, then turn it off. It would probably mean a slowdown in processing the filter, but I can accept that as long as it doesn't go crashing other stuff.

BTW.. It's always nice to know that A) you're not going crazy and B) your not the only one with the problem. LOL
Reply With Quote top
  #44  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:05 PM
plugsnpixels's Avatar
plugsnpixels plugsnpixels is offline
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 2,027
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

I can provide the revised lib for anyone who needs it, and you'll be good to go.

I have instructions for Mac; I don't know if this affects Windowz.
Reply With Quote top
  #45  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:10 PM
Swampy's Avatar
Swampy Swampy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Swamps of Florida
Posts: 4,418
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

P&P, you da MAN!!! :-)
Reply With Quote top
  #46  
Old 12-04-2008, 02:44 PM
TreesOfMyTime's Avatar
TreesOfMyTime TreesOfMyTime is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cumberland, RI
Posts: 179
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swampy View Post
REPRODUCIBLE CRASH

Topaz Adjust, CS3, Mac OSX 10.5.5 on a MacPro 4gb ram, OnOne Software Suite 4

If I run TopazAdjust and then try to run OnOne's ColorTune, Focal Point or PhotoTune plugins, I get a hard hang (spinning beach ball) . It takes 5 or 6 attempts at force quit to actually quit Photoshop. I have no problem when I reverse the procedure and run OneOne plugins first then TopazAdjust. It seems like Topaz is not releasing the plug-in engine or memory back to PS.

My work around is currently to do my TA filter, save the file, quit PS, relaunch PS then run the OnOne plugin(s). Not an efficient way to work. All the plugins work find individually, but there's just something about running TA before running an OnOne plugin that is the problem.
Yes, I can duplicate it!
Reply With Quote top
  #47  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:20 PM
Doug Nelson's Avatar
Doug Nelson Doug Nelson is offline
Janitor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 7,068
Blog Entries: 21
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

People, Topaz has an entire subforum here. Let's try to put new topics in their own thread in this Topaz forum instead of cramming dozens of different discussions into this single welcome thread.
Reply With Quote top
  #48  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:34 PM
plugsnpixels's Avatar
plugsnpixels plugsnpixels is offline
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 2,027
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

Good point, Doug!
Reply With Quote top
  #49  
Old 12-04-2008, 03:38 PM
TreesOfMyTime's Avatar
TreesOfMyTime TreesOfMyTime is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cumberland, RI
Posts: 179
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

OMG! I am so sorry to have offended the subject matter! Gone!
Reply With Quote top
  #50  
Old 12-04-2008, 05:16 PM
Swampy's Avatar
Swampy Swampy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Swamps of Florida
Posts: 4,418
Re: Welcome to the Topaz Labs support forum

Doug... The title says SUPPORT FORUM... and we are discussing a crash issue with Topaz Adjust and we are getting support. I don't get your point. I'm afraid you've discouraged TreesofMyTime, from posting his issue here. Are you suggesting we start a whole new Topaz Support thread?
Reply With Quote top
Reply

  RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Topaz Labs Support Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do's and Don'ts for the Restoration Forum Craig Walters Photo Restoration 7 02-25-2017 04:31 AM
Official vendor support forum Doug Nelson Vendor Support 0 08-02-2004 03:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2016 Doug Nelson. All Rights Reserved