RetouchPRO

Go Back   RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Topaz Labs Support Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Site Nav Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Topaz Labs Support Forum Official support forum for the Topaz line of Photoshop plugins

Topaz simplify beta

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 11-20-2008, 09:30 AM
Swampy's Avatar
Swampy Swampy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Swamps of Florida
Posts: 4,418
Re: Topaz simplify beta

WOW!!! Palms, lovely!
Reply With Quote top
  #22  
Old 11-20-2008, 10:59 AM
Steve Conway's Avatar
Steve Conway Steve Conway is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,272
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by palms1 View Post

That is great Steve a good illustration of the plug in I tend to agree with you not quite the same as buzz. but as buzz has now gone, a excellent replacement

Palms
It did sound like I was putting down Topaz, now that I re-read my post. That was not my intent. I was trying to say that it has that great Buzz look with some easier ways to alter the look.

I have tried several images in it and each seems to take on a new and unexpected look. Oil painting in one will look great, and in other images you get better results with watercolor etc. And I think so far that watercolor is a good starting preset. It seems to give me the look I want to start with and I can tweak from there.

I am anxious to see what other bells and whistles they will come up with in the next release.

Steve C.
Reply With Quote top
  #23  
Old 11-20-2008, 12:28 PM
Swampy's Avatar
Swampy Swampy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Swamps of Florida
Posts: 4,418
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Eric, I really want to say think you for doing the Simplifier! I don't have it to play with yet (on a Mac), but I am just so excited seeing what it can do. I remember we talked long ago about the need for a BUZZ replacement. Looks like you've not only replaced it but surpassed it!

Can't wait to get my hands on the Mac version.
Reply With Quote top
  #24  
Old 11-20-2008, 12:58 PM
palms's Avatar
palms palms is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: England
Posts: 5,685
Blog Entries: 30
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swampy View Post
WOW!!! Palms, lovely!
Thank you Swampy

palms
Reply With Quote top
  #25  
Old 11-20-2008, 02:36 PM
plugsnpixels's Avatar
plugsnpixels plugsnpixels is offline
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 2,027
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Swampy, you haven't gotten Windows running in emulation mode yet? It's great to have for times like this ;-).

All, try running Topaz Adjust first to tonally smooth out and pop the image, then run Simplify. This workflow will keep the highlights from blowing out or being too prominent, as in yvonne's otherwise great example.
Reply With Quote top
  #26  
Old 11-20-2008, 03:19 PM
Swampy's Avatar
Swampy Swampy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Swamps of Florida
Posts: 4,418
Re: Topaz simplify beta

P&P

I've got Fusion and Win XP sitting up on the shelf and just don't have the heart to install them. I hate the thoughts of putting anything "Winders" on my sweet MacPro. LOL. I can wait a couple weeks. In the mean time I'm enjoying the pics of possibilities and hints and tips. Hopefully I'll be sharing settings with everyone soon.
Reply With Quote top
  #27  
Old 11-20-2008, 03:24 PM
plugsnpixels's Avatar
plugsnpixels plugsnpixels is offline
RetouchPRO LIVE Guest Artist
Patron
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: LA area
Posts: 2,027
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Nah, it's harmless. Just a set of folders on your hard drive (in this case, from Parallels). Really opens up a lot of additional imaging goodies in a pleasant enough way.
Attached Images
File Type: png parallels.png (64.0 KB, 33 views)
Reply With Quote top
  #28  
Old 11-20-2008, 04:12 PM
amica999's Avatar
amica999 amica999 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Capital Village of Germany aka Berlin
Posts: 1,716
Blog Entries: 2
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Another try on my favorite modell :-)
Followed PP's advice and ran adjust, than simplify copied same layer and ran simplify again, blend multiply and lowered opacity...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Simplify_test.jpg (197.5 KB, 78 views)
Reply With Quote top
  #29  
Old 11-21-2008, 02:13 PM
Steve Conway's Avatar
Steve Conway Steve Conway is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,272
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by plugsnpixels View Post
Nah, it's harmless. Just a set of folders on your hard drive (in this case, from Parallels). Really opens up a lot of additional imaging goodies in a pleasant enough way.
Wonder if this would work if you bought a new computer and had to settle for Vista? Could you do a parallel with XP on the Vista machine?...(This would be a Windows not Mac PC.)

I afraid I have many programs which I use regularly and if I ever am forced to use Vista many of them probably won't work.

Steve C.
Reply With Quote top
  #30  
Old 11-21-2008, 02:20 PM
Steve Conway's Avatar
Steve Conway Steve Conway is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,272
Re: Topaz simplify beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by plugsnpixels View Post
All, try running Topaz Adjust first to tonally smooth out and pop the image, then run Simplify. This workflow will keep the highlights from blowing out or being too prominent, as in yvonne's otherwise great example.
Unfortunately some of us did not buy Adjust. I bought Vivacity, then Adjust came out. Adjust may enhance things you do with Simplicity, but is it the needed ingredient to get the most from Simplicity? Altho I like Vivacity, I feel I spent my bucks on the wrong software.

Steve C.
Reply With Quote top
Reply

  RetouchPRO > Tools > Vendor Support > Topaz Labs Support Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plug-In: Topaz DeNoise is out (free for Adjust owners) plugsnpixels Software 16 02-21-2009 09:36 PM
Topaz Adjust - What Is It Doing To My Pixels?? MarcoMarc Topaz Labs Support Forum 0 11-10-2008 10:05 AM
Topaz Adjust 2.4 Upgrade Procedure TommyO Topaz Labs Support Forum 1 09-19-2008 08:49 PM
Photoshop CS4 beta DJWaxx Software 2 05-08-2008 08:03 AM
Illustrator - Simplify Stephen A Image Help 3 02-15-2008 07:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 2016 Doug Nelson. All Rights Reserved